Don Beyer for House

Don Beyer, a first-term Democratic and former Center for Arms Control and Non-Proliferation board member Don Beyer, a first-term Democrat, is running for re-election. In a district that has gone increasingly Democratic, he has only minor Republican opposition. He is running against Charles Hernick (R), who had less than $10,000 in his campaign treasury.

Learn More | Contribute to Don’s Campaign

Demings Profile

Val Demings for House

Val Demings is running in the newly revised 10th district in Florida with a district makeup that makes her the clear favorite in November. Val, the daughter of a maid and a janitor, has an inspirational back story leading to her rise as Orlando’s first woman Police Chief. She will make an immediate and positive impact in the U.S. House of Representatives.

Learn More | Contribute to Val’s Campaign


Bill Foster for House

Representative Bill Foster is running for re-election in Illinois’s 11th Congressional District. Foster is a physicist with a Ph.D. from Harvard. He takes a scientific approach to national security issues, including in his support for the Iran nuclear agreement. He is a leader in Congress on securing funding for key non-proliferation programs.

Learn More | Contribute to Bill’s Campaign

Kihuen Profile

Ruben Kihuen for House

Nevada state senator Ruben Kihuen is running for the House of Representatives in the 4th district of Nevada. Ruben is a classic American success story who came from modest circumstances to succeed. He is a strong believer in the importance of diplomacy over the use of military force.

Learn More | Contribute to Ruben’s Campaign


Annie Kuster for House

Representative Annie Kuster is running for re-election in New Hampshire’s 2nd District. Annie shares the Council’s vision of sensible national security policies on everything from supporting the Iran agreement to working toward a world free of nuclear weapons.

Learn More | Contribute to Annie’s Campaign

Donald McEachin for House

Donald McEachin is running in a newly created district. The Republican incumbent decided to run in another district, creating an open seat that Sen. McEachin has a strong chance to win. McEachin believes that the U.S. nuclear weapons budget should be reduced because the U.S. has more than enough nuclear weapons, and other security and foreign policy programs are of higher priority.

Learn More | Contribute to Donald’s Campaign

Stephanie Murphy for House

Stephanie Murphy is running a terrific race against incumbent Rep. John Mica (R) in a district with new lines ordered by the courts that is more favorable to Democrats. She has a strong national security background. Stephanie would withdraw U.S. troops from Afghanistan as quickly as possible and endorses the Kissinger-Shultz-Nunn-Perry vision of moving responsibly toward a world free of nuclear weapons.

Learn More | Contribute to Stephanie’s Campaign

Rick Nolan for House

Rep. Rick Nolan, who returned to Congress in 2013 after a 32-year absence, is running in Minnesota’s 8th Congressional district, a competitive district that he only won by less than two points in 2014. Rick strongly agrees that nuclear war is one of the most critical issues. Since returning to Congress, Rick has received a 100% and a 92% on the Council voting scorecard.

Learn More | Contribute to Rick’s Campaign


Carol Shea-Porter for House

Carol Shea-Porter was first elected to represent New Hampshire’s 1st Congressional District in 2006, where she ran on an anti-Iraq war platform. She is running in 2016 to win back her seat from Rep. Frank Guinta (R). In the House, Shea-Porter scored an 89 percent on the Council for a Livable World scorecard. She believes that diplomacy is the way forward and that military action should be a last resort.

Learn More | Contribute to Carol’s Campaign


Last year, Council for a Livable World helped to elect 13 candidates progressive on national security to the U.S. House of Representatives:

2014 House Victories

Representative Pete Aguilar (D-Calif.)
Dr. Ami Bera
Representative Ami Bera (D-Calif.)
Representative Don Beyer (D-Va.)
Representative Cheri Bustos (D-Ill.)
Representative Suzan DelBene (D-Wash.)
Representative Bill Foster (D-Ill.)
Representative Gwen Graham (D-Fla.)
Representative Mike Honda (D-Calif.)
Representative Ann Kuster (D-N.H.)
Representative Patrick Murphy (D-Fla.)
Representative Rick Nolan (D-Minn.)
Representative Raul Ruiz (D-Calif.)
Representative Kyrsten Sinema (D-Ariz.)